5 Coffee Cups Review of LUX by Courtney Cole

Title: Lux 

Series: The Nocte Trilogy #3

Author:  Courtney Cole

Genre:  NA, Romance, Mystery 

23501019

downloadhjdfg

Goodreads Ι Amazon 

 

Synopsis:

LET THERE BE LIGHT.

My name is Calla Price and I’m broken.

My pieces are all around me, floating on the wind, even as I desperately try to grasp them.

Who is dead? Alive? Insane?

What is the truth?

I don’t know.

I do know this: The darkness is strangling me. With every breath, I choke on another lie.

My mind has protected me, but that shield will soon be lowered.

All will be revealed.
Every answer to every question.

It’s all been leading to this.

Don’t be afraid.
Be terrified.

 

My Thoughts:

I’ve been sitting on this review for days, not having the slightest clue as to how to properly put what I read into words. Let me start by saying that from the very beginning, we all knew that the Nocte Trilogy wasn’t your everyday-run of the mill-kind of story. It’s dark, it’s gritty and completely unorthodox; that’s what makes it such a fantastic series. I’ve read so many stories that nothing surprises me anymore, most plotlines are predictable and unoriginal. The Nocte trilogy however had me scratching my head and asking myself “what the hell did I just read” from beginning to end. Lux is a maze of twist and turns that bend reality and mystifies your mind. A refreshingly, unconventional story that will have you biting your nails and rocking on a corner somewhere.

Review:

The die has been cast, Has been cast, Has been cast. I feel it. The truth. It’s coming, And it’s dark,
And I won’t like it.

I devoured the first two books, and couldn’t wait to get my hands on Lux, I needed answers or I was gonna go crazy. Lux takes you so far down the rabbit hole that I suggest you take out your little, handy dandy notebook and start taking notes as you read along, just to make sure you remember all the details. There’s so much going on and so many aspects and retells of the story that at some points it’s difficult to keep track of everything and your sanity for that matter. You don’t know which way is up, down. Who’s good or bad. What’s real or not. Who’s dead or alive. It’s a carnival ride that makes your head spin but OMG, you love every minute of it! I’m such a masochist.  I have no idea how Courtney Cole kept her head on straight while writing this series, she’s either brilliant or mad; is funny how often those two cross. Nevertheless she’s done a freaktastic job with a unique story that truly stands aside from the bunch.

I don’t want to reveal specific details, all I can really say is that we do get the answers we’ve been impatiently waiting for, also the story is very open for interpretation and remember, the Beginning is the End. Okay that’s all I’m saying, good luck and if you need emotional support after you finish reading Lux, there’s a Nocte Support Group on Facebook.

halfway

 

About the Author 

Courtney Cole

3112212
Courtney Cole is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling novelist who would eat mythology for breakfast if she could.

She has a degree in Business, but has since discovered that corporate America is not nearly as fun to live in as fictional worlds.

Courtney was born and raised in rural Kansas, but has since migrated south. She now lives in Florida and writes beneath palm trees.

Website Ι Facebook Ι Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

