*Cold Stone Touch* by Jennifer Armentrout Review

Title: Cold Stone Touch

Series: Dark Elements #2

Author:  Jennifer Armentrout

Genre:  YA, Paranormal Romance

stone cold touch

downloadhjdfg

Goodreads Ι Amazon Ι B&N

 

Synopsis:

Every touch has its price

Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task for a seventeen-year-old who’s pretty sure things can’t get worse. Her impossibly gorgeous best friend, Zayne, is forever off-limits thanks to the mysterious powers of her soul-stealing kiss. The Warden clan that has always protected her is suddenly keeping dangerous secrets. And she can barely think about Roth, the wickedly hot demon prince who understood her in ways no one else could.

But sometimes rock bottom is only the beginning. Because suddenly Layla’s powers begin to evolve, and she’s offered a tantalizing taste of what has always been forbidden. Then, when she least expects it, Roth returns, bringing news that could change her world forever. She’s finally getting what she always wanted, but with hell literally breaking loose and the body count adding up, the price may be higher than Layla is willing to pay…

 

My Thoughts:

God my mind and my heart have been obliterated. JLA is really trying to kill me with another crazy ending. I’m in love with the world she’s created in the Dark Elements series. I absolutely could not put this book down; I felt like an addict getting my fix which included two very dreamy guys and a fantastic set of characters. Shout out to Dez and Nicolai for being AWESOME SAUCE!

 

Review:

 

Total kick-ass sequel. Okay so after I was left practically in tears at the end of White Hot Kiss and with a huge book hangover. I couldn’t bring myself to pick up Stone Cold Touch until recently, yeah this is what JLA does to me with her crazy-heart wrenching-endings. The story picks up just a few weeks after the events of the first book. Layla feels more than ever lost in her own skin, not quite fitting in anywhere and feeling the loss of Roth-the only boy/demon she’s ever really been able to get close to-piercing her heart. Things sure start moving quickly though when it’s discovered that a Lilin has been created and Layla is at fault.

I have many CRAY, CRAY feels about this book so this will be a long review. Let’s address a few things first; some strange wonky stuff is happening at school: Scandalous behavior from students, teachers ignoring said behavior and a lots of out of character bursts of anger. Then, guess who comes back from the Dead? Ding Ding Ding! If you guessed our mischievous, sexy demon-ROTH (sigh) you would be correct. But let’s just say he’s a bit reluctant to pick things back up with Layla. He’s kinda acting…Ok I’ll admit it, like a total ass. Of course that sends Layla straight into the arms of childhood best friend and long time crush, ZAYNE. Oh boy!

“I love you Layla. Do you hear me? I’ve loved you since the first moment I heard your voice and I will continue to love you. No matter what. I love you.”

Let’s talk about this whole love triangle thing and where I stand on it. TEAM ROTH! all the way baby! That demon is all kinds of hot and sexy, not to mention his enigmatic personality that makes me laugh, swoon and want to hit him all at the same time. There’s just no comparison, he takes the cake, I have undying loyalty for him.

I do love Zayne, he’s a total sweetheart and quite the charmer but he just doesn’t make my heart go BOOM-BOOM! First of all it feels as if Zayne’s sudden non-brotherly feelings for Layla grew out of nowhere, I didn’t feel any of that in the first book. In my opinion he acted big brotherly towards Layla and quite honestly his out of the blue unshakable trust in her goodness didn’t seem as rooted before either.

Roth on the other hand, has been there for Layla on all counts, accepting both sides of her and teaching her that is okay to have a little bad in you. Plus I don’t think I can ever fully get over the fact that Zayne wasn’t there for her when she really needed him in White Hot Kiss. Ptre almost killed her if it wasn’t for Roth. Layla was alone, outcasted to a tree house and his only excuse for not checking on her was because he was upset, that’s not a good enough reason in my book.

Zayne tries to keep her in a bubble, Roth let’s her spread her wings and be herself which ultimately I think it’s what goes the long run. Still Zayne makes for one hell of a competition, especially with Roth giving Layla the cold shoulder. I’m actually pretty nervous to find out who will ultimately win Layla’s heart. Please, Please JLA let that sexy demon have Layla all to himself. He’s a lonely boy.

As far as Layla is concern, I don’t know why so many readers find her annoying. I’ve read some annoying female characters, believe me! (Clenching fists) but Layla is actually pretty likeable. She is young and has been sheltered and void of real love her entire life. I can understand her actions, she has reason to feel the way she does. Overall I find her very level headed and contained considering everything she has to deal with. Give her a break and stop praising the male characters only.

Can the truth behind the lilin be discovered before more innocent people die, worse yet is Layla really behind it all and who can she trust when she can’t even trust herself.

 

About the Author 

Jennifer Armentrout JLArmentrout# 1 New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Jennifer L. Armentrout Lives in West Virginia.

All the rumors you heard about her state aren’t true.

Well, mostly. When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time, reading, working out, watching zombie movies, and pretending to write.

She is the author of the Covenant Series (Spencer Hill Press), the Lux Series (Entangled Teen), Don’t Look Back (Disney/Hyperion) and a yet untitled novel (Disney/Hyperion), and new YA paranormal series with Harlequin Teen.

Jennifer also writes New Adult and Adult romance under the pen name J. Lynn. The Gamble Brothers Series (Tempting the Best Man/Tempting the Player) and Wait for You. Under her pen name, she is published with Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Website Ι Facebook Ι Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

