Review of Beautiful Sacrifice by Jamie McGuire

Title: Beautiful Sacrifice 

Series: Maddox Brothers #3

Author:  Jamie McGuire

Genre:  New Adult, Romance

23714532

downloadergsef

  Goodreads ** Amazon ** Barnes and Noble

 

Synopsis:

Falyn Fairchild can walk away from anything. Having already left her car, her education, and even her parents, the daughter of the next governor of Colorado is back in her hometown, broke and waiting tables for the Bucksaw Café. After every shift, Falyn adds to her shoebox of cash, hoping to one day save enough to buy her a plane ticket to the only place she can find forgiveness: Eakins, Illinois.

The moment Taylor Maddox is seated in Falyn’s section at the Bucksaw, she knows he’s trouble. Taylor is charming, breaks promises, and gorgeous even when covered in filth—making him everything Falyn believes a hotshot firefighter to be. Falyn isn’t interested in becoming another statistic, and for a Maddox boy, a disinterested girl is the ultimate challenge.

Once Falyn learns where Taylor calls home, everything changes. In the end, Maddox persistence is met with Falyn’s talent for leaving, and for the first time, Taylor may be the one to get burned.

My thoughts: 

This story was so beautiful that I want to cry, again. If it’s even possible I fall more and more in love with the Maddox brothers in each book, but Taylor is holding the top spot for me and that’s saying a great deal because i’ve always been a Travis girl. Taylor made my heart grow three sizes and i can barely contain it or the emotions this story evoked from my chest.

Review:

Once again McGuire has managed to create a magnificent cast of characters and another Maddox brother that steals the spotlight with his easy charm and a badass demeanor, not to mention the sweet side we’ve all come to expect and love. We get it all in Beautiful Sacrifice, the swoon worthy hero and headstrong heroine that puts him to the test, laced with enough witty banter and lighthearted humor to create a perfect balance.

“My jeans don’t know your jean well enough to be washed together.”

I have to be honest, there are some very frustrating problems that Taylor and Falyn face and I know it will be an issue for a lot of readers, considering the majority of us are women, it makes it even worse. That being said, try to be open minded, not every story can be the same and no one is perfect. It is in the imperfections where this story shines.

“I think it’s pretty obvious that I don’t just want you.” He laughed once, nervous. “I can’t stay away from you. That qualifies as need.”

I have one word to describe how I felt about Taylor and Falyn, Kismet. I was completely captivated by the feel of meant to be you get when you read Beautiful Sacrifice, it adds a sense of magic and wonder to the story that’s somewhat rare now a days. Lately it seems I can’t differentiate most stories in my head, they all start blending together, so I can definitely appreciate the change of pace, it set the story apart from the rest. Jamie is never afraid to push boundaries, to give her characters hurdles and obstacles that seem hopeless at first but somehow twists into a beautiful ending.

“You have said from the beginning that this was all happening exactly the way it was supposed to. You can’t pick and choose. It’s either fate, or it’s not.”

This story touched my heart in ways that is hard to describe. It’s very emotional, more than any of the others. I guarantee two things, you will get angry and even cry but it will all make sense because once a Maddox boy falls in love he falls for forever.

“Everything that’s happened since we met has led to this moment. There is only one woman I’ve loved before you, and there will never be another after you.”
Spoiler Alert
The only reason I won’t give this book five stars, as I mentioned above (SPOILER ALERT). The “We we’re on a BREAK” thing, I thought it could’ve been handled differently, perhaps more thought out. I understand people are flawed and will make mistakes, I can tolerate it to an extend which is why I’m not judging as harshly as others. What happened was just a FRIENDS moment.

tumblr_lxjhe0hSQU1r69vv6o1_250

A misunderstanding where the guy thinks one thing and the girl another, but considering that this story will be read mainly by women, it’ll be very hard for us to overlook said misunderstanding. Other than that, I loved every minute of it and finished in less than a day. Falyn and Taylor were an amazing couple that together learn how to forgive, love and hope.

Author

4464118

Jamie McGuire 

Leave a Reply

