Little Black Book by Tabatha Vargo and Melissa Andrea reviewed by Maybelis L.

Title: Little Black Book

Author: Tabatha Vargo and Melissa Andrea
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: June 27, 2014

3a05c-1

Goodreads Ι Amazon Ι Barnes and Noble

Synopsis:

My name’s Sebastian Black, and I want to buy you. I could have any woman I want, but I choose you.
NO RELATIONSHIP, JUST SEX.

Here’s my offer…
I’ll put your name in my LITTLE BLACK BOOK, and when I want you, I’ll call you. When I call, you’re going to come, in more ways than one. It will be mutually pleasurable for both of us.

There are only two rules:
DON’T EVER DENY ME.
DON’T FALL IN LOVE.

If you do either, I’ll remove you from my book and payment stops.

Do we have an understanding?

 

My thoughts:

Ladies, there is a new sexy in town! Move over Mr. Grey and let me introduce you to Mr. Black, he never goes out of style. When Sebastian says come. I want to jump and ask, how many times.

What can I say about this book other than I FREAKING LOVED it?!?! It was the perfect combination of steamy, heartfelt and completely addictive. Fifty Shades meets Pretty Woman with a twist that will leave your mouth hanging open and your heart hitting your ass. Yeah, it was that good and unexpected.

I read the Blurb for Little Black Book after I’d seen the title bouncing quite a bit around Goodreads and Facebook and decided, what the heck? It sounds interesting, I’ll give it a go! What I didn’t know was that I was going to be attached to my freaking Nook like if it had crazy glue on it. I couldn’t even concentrate on work! From the moment you open this book, trust me, you will not be able to set it back down until the words the FUCKING END appear on the last page… Seriously, that’s what it says.

 

Review:

So ladies, it is my pleasure (wink wink) to introduce you to SEBASTIAN BLACK, a super cocky, super sexy, club owner in New York city. Power suit, power tie, power steering. That’s Mr. Black for you. He doesn’t do relationships, feelings or emotions. He fucks and  he’s very good at it. He has a little black book, with the names of the women he enjoys, well he names them all after a cartoon character like Bambi, Betty, Wilma, etc. There are just a few rules you have to follow to make the cut.

He doesn’t want to know your name

Don’t ever deny him

and don’t fall in love

Sounds simple right? Well… No, nothing is simple in our books, you should all know better. When Rosslyn walks into his life, he knew she would be different. Her innocence and beauty are not something he is prepared to handle and it completely sucker punches him in the gut. She presents a challenge for him. She isn’t like the other ones, she is his Jessica Rabbit. She is sexier than anyone he’s ever met. Beautiful in everyway possible, inside and out but she doesn’t see it. She is sweet, innocent and has a sassy mouth that is quite the turn on. Poor girl has no idea what’s about to hit her when Mr. Black walks into her life.

“It had been a long time since one of my girls presented me with a challenge and it was exactly what I needed. In the end, I knew she would be mine. I always got what I wanted. Always.”

The story is told from both POV’s between Sebastian and Rosslyn -aka Jessica- which was one of the best parts. It gives you a wider knowledge of both characters and allows the reader to really connect with each one.

Rosslyn is at the very edge of a precipice with nowhere to go and a little brother that depends on her. She is twenty two, her parents died violently when she was a kid and the only other living relative she had -her grandmother- just passed away. Her and her brother Kyle are basically living in their grandma’s old beat up car until Rosslyn can find a job and get back on her feet. Enter Sebastian, he is captivated by her and once he decides he wants something, nothing stands in his way, and he wants Rosslyn.

“Here’s what I’m offering you. I’ll put your number in my book, and when I want you, I’ll call you. And when I call you, you’ll come, in more ways than one. I promise, beautiful girl, it will be mutually pleasurable for both of us.”

Rosslyn accepts his proposition against her better judgement, she knows her choices are limited and after her brother is taken away by social services, she is desperate and makes a deal with the devil himself. Rosslyn can’t deny the crazy attraction and the way her body reacts when she is around Sebastian, no matter how much she tells herself that it’s all business. He has the power to unravel her, to provoke feelings and sensations she’s never felt before.

We danced under the stars. “You’re such a romantic.”
“Am not.” he grinned. “Then what would you call this?” I asked. “I call this an excuse to feel your body against mine.” I giggled. “Sure it is.”

Of course we get all the hot and cold of Sebastian battling his growing feelings for Rosslyn. This is something he has never experienced before and evidently doesn’t know how to deal with it. He has deep, dark rooted demons that plague at his heart. Breaking the walls he has carefully built up over the years isn’t easy but there is something different about Rosslyn. She is sweet, caring and for the first time in his life, he wants to know more about one of “his girls” as he puts it. He wants to know Rosslyn. I loved their chemistry, it felt real and steamy and sweet all at the same time. Rosslyn was a very likeable heroine, she is inexperienced and kind but she does have a mouth on her and she holds her own against the intimidating Mr. Black.

“Does that make you my rabbit? Can I call you Roger?” A grin lifted my cheeks until they hurt.
“You can call me anything you’d like. I’ll be your rabbit all night long, baby. And keep going, and going, and going…”

I loved everything about this story, there are some very steamy, kinky sex scenes that I wont deny were like wow, I need a cold shower but it wasn’t overwhelming. The storyline itself was what kept me intrigued and entertained. There is a lot more to the story, actual substantial, heart gripping material that had me at the edge of my seat. The chemistry between Sebastian and Rosslyn was undeniable from the very beginning and it only built and built as the story developed. The sexual tension between those two had me squirming in my seat. I fell for the enigmatic Sebastian and all his unpredictable ups and downs. I loved all his sides, his cockiness, his crudeness and most of all when he let his sweet side loose. Oh boy! He was driving me crazy, that man makes it too damn hard to follow his rules and not fall head over heels in love with him.

“I’m almost there with you – so close it scares the shit out of me. I want to know your name, but I’m still afraid that I’ll run when you tell me and running from you is the last thing I want to do.”

I honestly can’t say there is a part of this book I didn’t like. It was the complete package for me. I LOVED every minute of it and will recommend it to everybody. I was very surprised by how much I liked the story.

Now, Sebastian says buy the fucking book and start reading already!!! That’s an order and don’t forget that you can’t deny him.

divider2

About the Author

Tabatha Vargo

Tabatha is a sweet tea sippin’, front porch sittin’ kind of girl from South Carolina. She loves old, historical anything, wind chimes, and all things romantic. She is the mother of an 8 y/o rock star/princess and the wife of her very own Prince Charming.
When she isn’t writing, she’s texting book ideas to herself.

Tabatha’s Blog | Tabatha’s Facebook | Tabatha’s GoodReads

Melissa Andrea

Reading has always been a passion for me and writing is as instinctive as breathing. Every inhale is an idea; every exhale a creation. Flutter, The Discover Series was my debut release and since then I have written a contemporary romance, The Edge of Darkness. The only thing I do better than writing? Making beautiful, sassy and independent, girls. My daughters will always be my greatest accomplishment, my biggest fans and my every inspiration. I live, breath and would die for them! I’ve been married to one of the greatest men in my life for 7 years and I love him more than chocolate (you know shit just got real :), Justin Timberlake and Friday’s. Without him my website would be a mess and I would probably be paying more taxes than I should. He is a jack of many trades and this is just my opinion but I like to think besides my daughters, I’m his second biggest accomplishment. (Does anyone else hear a horn tooting?)

I was born in Denver, Colorado -but I will always think of sunny Arizona as my home. I don’t have a big family, but I’m close with my sister, brother & my mom. My mom is my hero, my inspiration, and I couldn’t have asked for a more amazing person to be raised by. She has supported me throughout this crazy adventure and I’m lucky to have her on my side!

Melissa’s Facebook | Melissa’s Goodreads | Melissa’s Website

 

 

Leave a Reply

