Maybelis L. Reviews Lux Beginnings by Jennifer Armentrout

 

All good things come in pairs, just like the new Special Collector’s Edition of The Lux Series book 1 and 2. Just like Daemon Black, the sexy alien next door.

Title: Lux Beginnings (Obsidian & Onyx)

Series: The Lux Series 1 & 2
Author:  Jennifer L. Armentrout
Genre:  YA, Paranormal Romance, Science Fiction

Lux-Beginnings

  Goodreads Ι Amazon Ι Barnes and Noble

Synopsis for Obsidian:

There’s an alien next door. And with his looming height and eerie green eyes, he’s hot…until he opens his mouth. He’s infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, he marks me. Turns out he has a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal his abilities and the only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is.

My thoughts: 

The Lux Series is addictive, delicious and unputdownable. One of my top favorites and not just in it’s genre but among all the books in all the Universe. Daemon Black will steal your heart and make you swoon. You want a Paranormal done right? A YA that combines all the right things to make a story fascinating and memorable? With characters that will forever hold your heart ? Well, look no further. This is it. Jennifer Armentrout knows how to tell a story. I think she has magical powers because the woman can do no wrong. Her imagination is limitless and her talent unmatched.

Review:

Katy and her mom moved to West Virginia after her father past away from cancer.

Let’s talk about Katy here. She is a 17 year bookaholic and a blogger, how totally cool is that? This girl is me… well, me if I had a super sexy, incredibly moody, out of this world HOT( pun intended) alien living next to my house.

“Welcome to West Virginia, the land of lost models.”

In comes Daemon Black… sigh! He is a jerk. Yes I admit it, when Katy first meets him, he is totally rude, unwelcoming and arrogant towards her, setting the mood for the fabulous events that followed. Katy doesn’t understand his apathy towards her, she is rattled by it and well… quite pissed off about it. He might be a hottie but when he opens his mouth, good looks go out the window and Katy is not about to put up with his arrogance.

“Beautiful face. Beautiful body. Horrible attitude. It was the holy trinity of hot boys.”

“I thought people in small towns were supposed to be nice, not act like the son of Satan.”

Daemon is an alien, not the green-little-man kind though. Oh no! More like the greek god, emerald eyes, super sexy alien. And let me tell you, if all aliens are this hot I’m hoping for an invasion. This character was so well developed you just want to believe he is real, somewhere out there waiting to find you, he grabs your heart from the beginning. He is infuriating when he is rude, irresistible when he is flirty and adorable when he is funny, he totally rocks the trifecta.

“I have a strange idea that I should test this out.”

“Test what?” My eyes dropped to his lips. I felt myself sway.

“I think you would like to know.” He moved closer, his hand sliding up my arm and resting carefully at the nape of my neck.

His race, the Luxen, are on earth under refuge after his home planet was destroyed by the Arum. Daemon is the definition of protective ans he doesn’t want his sister Dee to be friends with a human like Katy. He knows first hand what a relationship with humans can do and he doesn’t want his sister in the middle of it. But of course things never go as planned. When he saves Katy from a horrible car accident, she finds out he is an alien, and things get crazy from there.

“You don’t look like an alien!’ It seemed important to point that out.

He arched a brow. ‘And what do aliens look like?’

‘Not…not like you,’ I sputtered. ‘They aren’t gorgeous–‘

‘You think I’m gorgeous?’ He smiled.”

“Will you show me what you really look like? You don’t sparkle, do you?”

This was such an addictive story. The moments between Katy and Daemon were swoony and steamy. Their constant bickering only adds to the building sexual tension escalating between the two. Daemon’s arrogance and self assured attitude was impossible to resist, he made aliens cool… Hell! He makes anything cool!

“In your dreams, Kitten.” He smirked. “Oh wait, I’m already starring in those, aren’t I?”

I rolled my eyes.

“Nightmares, Daemon. Nightmares.”

There is a computer scene that WOW. I mean WOW!!! Talk about blowing a gasket, here is a little preview:

“He paused, his smug grin turning wicked as his eyes met mine. “We could always have sex. I hear that uses up a lot of energy.”

Word of caution though, be ready to read for hours because once you pick up this book you will not be able to put it down. And once you’re done, you will only crave more and more of the enigmatic alien next door because Daemon Black is a force to be reckoned with.

divider2

Synopsis for Onyx:

Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems. I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

My Thoughts:

I cannot seriously express how much I adore this series. Daemon Black does it for me, attractive, cocky, endearing and a bit of a jerk. He is a genius creation of the talented Jennifer Armentrout.

My Review:

The second book in the Lux Series picks up right where the first one left off, with a reluctant Katy and an ever infuriatingly charming Daemon Black.

Katy doesn’t believe the attraction Daemon declares to have for her. Not after the way he treated her, and she is not about to make it easy for him. But Daemon loves a challenge and he wants Katy, no matter what.

“I always liked you. From the moment you first flipped me off.” – Daemon

After Daemon heals Katy in Obsidian, a strange Alien connection forms between them and she doesn’t want a guy to like her because of some make believe, misguided obligation. She wants what her parents had, true love.

“Because I know what I feel in here. And I’m not the type of person to run from anything, no matter how hard it is. I’d rather face-plant against a brick wall than live for the rest of my life wondering what could’ve been.”

Katy fights her growing feelings for Daemon like a true pro but resistance is futile. When it comes to him, the word no doesn’t exist in his vocabulary.

“Resistence is futile, Kitten.”

There is a lot more mystery and developing in this book. We meet new characters and get our hearts pumping with more actions scenes and well of course steamy scenes are a must.The storyline is unique, refreshing and easy to follow. It’s not an overwhelming paranormal but it definitely keeps you interested and enthralled.

“What are we going to do kitten?”

My toes curled at the deep octave of his voice. “I don’t know.”

“I have a few ideas.”

I cracked a grin. “I’m sure you do.”

“Wanna hear about them? Although, I’m much better at the show part rather than the tell.”

“Somehow, I believe you.”

“If you didn’t, I could always give you a teaser.” He paused, and I could hear the smile in his voice. “You bookish people love teasers, don’t you?”

The cocky parts with Daemon running his mouth are too hilarious. He had me reduced to a pile of goo.

As the story developed I started to become slighly inpatient with Katy. I mean, I understand where the girl is coming from, Daemon was a total douche at first and I’m totally in for making a guy suffer, but in this book he really does try his best to show her that he cares for her and he that she can trust him. However Katy remained stubborn to the end which didn’t exactly turn out well considering everything that happens and the people affected. Nevertheless I believe character flaws make a story stronger. I still loved Katy, she is a strong heroine that holds out for what she believes in and Daemon is not afraid to tell it how it is. Together they will stand against the world.

“Great. I was the biggest asshat alive. This whole time I’d kept throwing the alien connection in Daemon’s face and it hadn’t been what was propelling him.”

Onyx was one of my favorite in the series and you will not be disappointed. This book at my heart plummeting to my butt, I loved every minute of it.

divider2

About the Author 

JLArmentrout

Website Ι Facebook Ι Twitter

 

 

Leave a Reply

