Maybelis L. Reviews Trouble by Samantha Towle and gives it 5 Gourmet Cups!!!

Title: Trouble

Author: Samantha Towle
Genre:  NA, Contemporary Romance
17257484

 Goodreads Ι Amazon Ι Barnes and Noble

Synopsis:

Mia Monroe is running. Running from a person she doesn’t ever want to find her. Running from a past she doesn’t ever want anyone to know. Desperate to find a future, that yesterday, she could only dream of having.

Jordan Matthews likes easy. Easy women. Easy life.

Then he meets Mia.

She’s damaged, troubled and has more baggage than any person can carry. But the more Jordan gets to know Mia-for the first time in his life-he finds himself wanting to try hard for something … for someone … for her.

And then life isn’t so easy anymore.

Jordan is everything Mia shouldn’t want. A whole bunch of dirty hotness, tattooed, cocky bad boy, who made his money at poker tables and picked his women up in bars. Yet, Mia finds herself falling for him. Then the past Mia was running from, quickly starts to catch up with her. Because that’s the problem with running … you have to stop sometime.

And when you stop, you get caught.

 

My thoughts: 

This is such a captivating story about finding the courage to fight back, learning to trust others with everything you have, and rise above the challenges that life puts in your path.

Samantha Towle captures the reader like a fish on a hook. I was in Trouble from the moment I opened the first page, but falling in love with a story is the best kind of trouble to be in.

Review:

With alternating Pov’s from Mia and Jordan the story flows smoothly and gives the reader a chance to really connect with both characters. The beginning of the book is heart gripping and quite honestly difficult to stomach but nonetheless still enthralling. It is a great setting to help us understand the character of Mia. I felt my heart aching for her and a desperate need to jump inside the book to protect this kindhearted, badly abused girl from her cruel father and horrible boyfriend.

Mia is broken. She has spent her whole life under submission from an abusive father to an abusive boyfriend who believes Mia is his property to do with as he pleases. Mia doesn’t fight back, she is conditioned to believe that this is the life she deserves. She closes her eyes and endures the neverending bruises, broken ribs and black eyes and she has the scars to prove it. She can handle the anger and the pain since it’s all she has ever known. She can make that pain bearable by gorging on junk food then purging it back up as a coping mechanism.

At the beginning of the story I was a little frustrated with Mia, her unwillingness to fight back and fall yet again into a cycle of abuse had me floored but I tried to put myself in her shoes and understand how the mind works. Sometimes we are our own worse enemies and being brainwashed since childhood into believing something, is not an easy pattern to break.

“Why do I stay? Because it’s all I know. All I have ever known. Like a bee drawn to honey, I was drawn to a man like Forbes because the life he offers is the one I’m used to.”

I don’t want to give too much of the story away. Following a set of disturbing events, Mia finds herself on the run. Running as far as her car will take her to the place where she can find the answers she needs, Colorado.

Enter hottie/ cocky/man whore, Jordan Matthews, or as I call him  “The man that can’t be moved”. He is a self proclaimed bad boy with tattoos, a foul mouth and a strict no relationships, no attachments policy. His motto is simple: get in, get off and get out.

“When it comes to women, I put my dick in and keep my heart out. It’s the easiest way… Why do all women think they can change me? I’m unchangeable. When will they get this?”

Jordan has his own problems. A guilt he can’t get rid off, a guarded heart and serious commitment issues. He has seen firsthand what love can do to a person, it can break you and he refuses to go through that kind of heartache. I absolutely loved his POV’s. He was hilarious and believable as a male character. He did curse A LOT! And thought about sex, A LOT! But hey, he is a guy and it was refreshing to hear his mind, half the time I couldn’t stop laughing. His thoughts were so sexually driven and direct ,it honestly felt as if I was inside a guy’s head.

“I need this hard on to disappear.
I can do this. My dick does not rule me. I’m in control here…
She smells good… I want to lean in close and inhale.
And possibly lick her.”

See what I mean? He is a total guy.

When Mia walks into his life, Jordan knew she was trouble, she was the kind of beautiful you don’t just walk away from.

“There’s no such thing as too pretty.”
“Yes, there is. There’s the kind of pretty that comes with a warning label. This girl is trouble.”

Jordan doesn’t understand the drive he feels towards helping this kind, sweet, breakable girl that has walked unexpectedly into his life. But he just can’t stay away, she is the first girl he can’t resist. Soon he finds himself acting out of character and doing things for a girl he barely knows, things he’s never done for any other female.

“When I’m around her, I actually feel alive in a way I haven’t for a long time. And I”m going to spend every moment I have with her, making her see that none of what happened to her was her fault. I’m going to make her see herself the way I see her. Incredible. Strong. Beautiful.”

I loved the transition we see in Jordan throughout the story. He was so caring and protective towards Mia. He slowly earns her trust and realizes that he wants to be better for her. For the first time in his life, he wants to be in a relationship. I was so glad to see Jordan embrace his feelings, he never turned back, once he fell for Mia he never fought against it.

“She’s fucking amazing. Everything I didn’t know I was looking for. I know I’m fucked. She has me now. If there were ever a chance of me going back after this one taste of her, it’s gone.”

The way Jordan was there for Mia was heartwarming, I wanted to hug him, kiss him and thank him. He was so dreamy and perfect. Their chemistry was giving me butterflies and I was rooting for their happy ending all along.

Jordan shows Mia that not all men are assholes that will hurt you. He treats her with kindness, thinks she is beautiful and makes her see the possibility of a better life. Mia doesn’t know what to make of this. Anger and pain she can understand, but is she ready to understand someone loving her for just being her?

“After everything I just said to you…you still want to help me. Why?”
“Because I fuckin’ love you, Mia.
I love you, Mia. Every part of you. The best and worst. The broken, the perfect. The bad, the good. You’re it for me babe. I see only you.”

Even though Mia is portrayed as weak throughout the majority of the book, she does learn to find her voice and her will to rise above the adversities of her life. She learns to seek the help she needs, to accept the things that can’t be changed and to open her heart to love.

The story was absolutely touching, romantic and heart gripping. It will grab you and hold you until the words THE END appear on the last page.

 

Divider3

About the Author 

Samantha Towle

New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Samantha Towle began her first novel in 2008 while on maternity leave. She completed the manuscript five months later and hasn’t stopped writing since.

She has written contemporary romances, THE MIGHTY STORM, WETHERING THE STORM and TROUBLE.

She has also written paranormal romances, THE BRINGER and the ALEXANDRA JONES SERIES, all penned to tunes of The Killers, Kings of Leon, Adele, The Doors, Oasis, Fleetwood Mac, and more of her favourite musicians.

A native of Hull and a graduate of Salford University, she lives with her husband, Craig, in East Yorkshire with their son and daughter.

Website Ι Facebook Ι Twitter

 

 

Leave a Reply

