Schedar G. Interviews Georgina Guthrie

 photo f0dd0ea9-1d3c-4d44-ae5d-0f02b65e307a_zpsc891627d.png

Georgina Guthrie

Twitter * Facebook * Website 

divider2

Introduction

Some people would think that Shakespeare is nothing but an ancient writer who only wrote sad, tragic stories…. Those people would be dead wrong and perhaps should get to reading The Weight of Words. I was introduced to the lovely Georgina Guthrie and her addicting writing through none other than Sylvain Reynard and Twitter. I am so glad I was introduced to this amazing lady who wrote a fun and sexy book around none other than… Shakespeare. Needless to say we became totally addicted to this story, and Daniel and Guthrie’s words. We couldn’t be more excited to have Miss Georgina Guthrie here at the Breakfast Blog to answer some of our questions.

Thanks so much for having me. Let me state for the record, that breakfast is my favourite meal of the day, especially a good old English fry-up! Yum! 🙂 It is us who thank you. We are so happy to have you! (Calls waiter over and orders an English fry-up)

divider2

Interview

1. You started writing this story as Fan Fic. What made you decide to publish it?

I am not an impulsive person. I put a hell of a lot of thought into the decision to publish. Ultimately, I suppose after spending over three years creating and working on the story—putting my heart and soul into every chapter, I wanted to have something tangible to hold in my hands and say: “I did this. I created this.” It’s been one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life.  

2. Is this the first story you’ve ever written? I’ve always written in journals, and I’ve had the odd piece of non-fiction published, but I haven’t written fiction since I was in high school.

3. What made you write a book revolving around Shakespeare? What is your favorite Shakespeare quote?

From the outset, I knew I wanted to write a story set at U of T. My memories of my university days are wonderful and it’s been such a joy revisiting them. Writing a story with an academic setting requires some field of academia. You often hear the advice “write what you know.” (I’d amend that: Write what you know and love). I have a pretty good handle on Shakespeare’s work, and I adore the man. No brainer. 😉   Asking me for my favourite line of Shakespeare is like asking a mother which of her children she loves best. Can’t do it. LOL.

4. What is your favorite scene in the whole book?

I think the dinner party at the Grants’ house, when Daniel arrives unexpectedly is a wonderful turning point. But I also love the revelation scene at the Gardiner Museum, when Daniel’s wall comes crashing down.  One of the things I love most about him is his vulnerability, and this scene showcases that nicely. (The outtake written from his point of view after that scene is also wonderful. He’s such a sensitive soul.) The chapter I worked the hardest on, though, is the Antony and Cleopatra tutorial. I quite like the way that turned out.   GG, I have to be honest and say that I thoroughly blushed as I read the scene where Daniel tries to teach Aubrey to play Snooker… Man it got hot in my house, LOL!

5. Sometimes the relationship between Aubrey and Matt comes across like Matt has feelings for Aubrey… Was it always rebound for him or does he feel deeper for her?

I think Matt’s feelings of affection for Aubrey get muddied by circumstance and opportunity. He’s definitely rebounding, and just because you care about someone, and then an opportunity arises for things to become physical, that doesn’t mean it’s a good idea to pursue a romantic entanglement. I’m glad they pulled things back. He’s a wonderful friend.

6. The notion of jealousy is touched in this book a lot… Did you feel like the characters were possessive by nature or that the circumstances they were in were in fact the ones making them that way?

Daniel’s jealousy is complicated.  I don’t think he’s necessarily possessive, but I do think he’s desperate to hold on to Aubrey and frustrated by the limitations being imposed on them. Knowing he can’t flout regulations and throw himself wholeheartedly into their relationship naturally makes him envious of the easy relationship she shares with Matt. It was convenient for him to suspect there was something going on between Aubrey and Matt because doing so allowed him to insulate himself emotionally and extricate himself from their inappropriate liaison. Of course, he quickly realizes that being without her makes him far more miserable that he felt when he was breaking rules, so… LOL.

7. Who was your favorite character to write? Why?

I love writing Penny. As a Brit, it’s fun using all of her crazy expressions and purging the voice I hear inside my own head. I’m also rather fond of innuendo and love how irreverent Penny is.   I loved Penny, she did crack me up more than once!

8. Did you base any of your characters on people from your life?

I’m sure there are little pieces of many people I’ve known in my life rattling around inside my characters. I’m not sure how a writer can avoid doing that. Aubrey’s circumstances, both her financial situation and her family dynamic, are exactly what I experienced while attending university. Daniel’s grandmother is definitely a blend of several feisty pensioners I’ve had the honour of knowing. Also, I may or may not be directly quoting certain men I’ve known at different times in my life when writing Daniel’s lines. 😉 #LuckyMe Gosh, lucky you indeed!!!! Where can I get me one of those?

9. What can we expect to see in the next two books, can you give any hints? Or juicy details?

The sexual tension continues…but eventually something’s gotta give, if you know what I mean, and I think you do. *winks*   One last question, because we are The Breakfast Blog…

10. If you could have breakfast with anyone, real or fiction, and ask them anything, who would it be and what would you ask?

You know what? I’d love to sit and chat with Neil Peart from the Canadian rock band Rush. He’s a brilliant lyricist and he’s very well read—in addition to being a phenomenal, world-class percussionist. Rush has been one of my favourite bands since I was sixteen. Just shooting the breeze with him, finding out what inspires him, asking him about his favourite books and things like that would be a dream come true for me—get on it, okay? 😉 (Turning to Maybelis) Maybel, find out who manages Neil Peart and let’s see what we can do. (Turning back to Guthrie) Thank you so much Georgina. We cannot wait for the next installments in this series. It was an honor to have you on our Blog.

Check out her books here

The Weight of Words (Words #1)

The Weight of Words

Barnes & Noble * Amazon * Goodreads

Better Deeds than Words (Words #2)

Better Deeds than Words

Available May 20th

 Goodreads

 

Leave a Reply

