Happy Book Birthday!!! BREAKABLE by Tammara Webber- Reviewed by Maybelis L.

I like to thank Tammara Webber for writing such a beautiful story, for giving us Lucas and for her wonderful acknowlegments.

“Finally, here’s to everyone who has survived something devastating-something that shattered your self-confidence and distorted your world in one blow. Whether you were fierce in the face of it or fell to pieces or shoved it out of sight for years -I don’t care how you got here. Every day you are stronger. Every day you are healing. Every day that you survive, you are telling that event, that person, that illness, that memory: YOU DO NOT DEFINE ME. Keep on.”

divider2

Title: Breakable

Series: Contours of the Heart #2
Author: Tammara Webber
Genre: NA, Romance
Published: Penguin Berkley

17936925

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes and Noble

Synopsis:

He was lost and alone. Then he found her.
And the future seemed more fragile than ever.

As a child, Landon Lucas Maxfield believed his life was perfect and looked forward to a future filled with promise — until tragedy tore his family apart and made him doubt everything he ever believed.

All he wanted was to leave the past behind. When he met Jacqueline Wallace, his desire to be everything she needed came so easy…

As easy as it could be for a man who learned that the soul is breakable and that everything you hoped for could be ripped away in a heartbeat

 

My thoughts:

Breakable was a mesmerizing coming of age story. We see Landon/Lucas grow up from being a scarred young boy to a troubled adolescent and finally to the hero we all came to know and love in Easy. This was a truly remarkable tale of loss, love and self discovery. Webber painted a beautifully detailed masterpiece that will touch the contours of your heart.

Review:

I can’t tell you enough how much I loved this book. Landon deserved to have his story told. Following the tragic event that rattled his family to pieces, Landon’s life gets turned upside down never to be the same again. He learns to cope the best he can given the circumstances he faces; leaving his before life behind and starting over at a new town with a withdrawn father he believes holds him responsible for his mother’s violent death. That’s not an easy cross to carry when you are a thirteen year old boy with no one to turn to and no real path to follow. This coming of age story is one that I’m sure a lot of young boys and girls can relate to. The temptations of drugs, peer pressure and bullying are all too real nowadays and it resonates through the writing with exquisite taste and sensitivity.

“All right , big guy.” He took my shoulders and looked me in the eye. “You’re the man of the house while I’m gone. Take care of your mother.”
“Okay, Dad. Will do.”

We see this young boy endure a heavy burden and go through the motions of an aimless life that was slowly leading him down a dark, endless tunnel of nothingness. My heart ached for him. The emotions in this book are so real and palpable that they grip at your soul. I wanted to jump in and hug him and be there for him and tell him that everything was gonna be alright.  

When Dr.Heller presents him with a way out, Landon doesn’t hesitate, he takes it like an asthmatic patient in desperate need of air. He just needed someone to believe in him, to guide him and to give him the opportunity to rise above the cruel hand he was dealt. I cried in that part of the book, because I could feel his need to have someone love him .

“Everyone isn’t logical. Everything doesn’t make sense in the end. Sometimes you have to forget about explenations or excuses and leave people and places behind, because otherwise they will drag you straight down.”

I also very much enjoyed getting Lucas side in Easy. I always felt there were parts I didn’t fully understand and getting the entire picture from his side was an enlightening experience.

His growing feelings and desire for Jacqueline experienced through his voice was captivating and heart warming. I loved his adoration for her, the little things he notices, the way he puts her well being above everything else, even his own feelings. He is selfless and caring in a way that is rare considering everything he’s gone through in his life. The internal battle we see him go through due to his desire for Jacqueline is quite hot, swoony and a whole different experience getting it straight from his thoughts.

“I’d promised him to be appropriate with her for the remainder of the semester, but the desire coiling through me was anything but appropriate. It was fire and possession, adoration and need, hunger and thirst and an impossible, unbearable hope. I couldn’t stand the thought of her leaving me for five minutes, let alone forver. I couldn’t have her, but I wanted her so, so badly.”

I felt that the pov from Landon to Lucas on the different times of his life was a unique and appealing form of telling both stories, and  a perfect balance between the two. Webber did an amazing job of showing us the struggle and harshness that Landon endures as a young adolescent trying his best to deal with the tragic loss of his mother and the new found hope he finds in Jacqueline as an adult.

“That night had shattered me. I’d walled myself in to keep from breaking further, but no defense will protect you from every possible pain. I was still just as breakable as everyone else-the girl in my arms included.”

Landon was a strong soul, kind and brave and above all loyal. I commend him for his endurance and I adore Lucas for his commitment and his beautiful heart .

Jacqueline became his renowned dream, his awakening, and it was touching to see him accept and remember his before life without the guilt and anguish that consumed him before. This amazing boy truly deserved his happy ending. My hero, Landon Lucas Maxfield.

“She’d conjured love in the heart of a man whose soul had been frozen for years, anesthetized by too much pain and guilt to bear.”

divider2

About the Author

Tammara WebberAuthor of BreakableEasy, and the Between the Lines series.

I’m a former undergraduate academic advisor, married to my high school sweetheart, mother to three adult children and four very immature cats.

Please check my blog for book updates. If you have questions, I have an FAQ tab there, with a public email address listed for anything not covered. 🙂

Website Facebook Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

