Maybelis L. reviews Reasonable Doubt

First of, I have to thank my dear friend and follower Steph Wang. What an awesome recommendation!

Title: Reasonable Doubt

Series: Reasonable Doubt Volume 1
Author:  Whitney Gracia Williams
Genre:  Adult Romance, Erotica
Published: March 31st 2014
ReasonableDoubt.v7Bold-Final-1-1

  GoodreadsAmazonBarnes and Noble

Synopsis:

My cock has an appetite. 

huge and very particular appetite: Blonde, curvy, and preferably not a fucking liar…(Although, that’s a story for another day.)

As a high profile lawyer, I don’t have time to waste on relationships, so I fulfill my needs by anonymously chatting and sleeping with women I meet online. 

My rules are simple: One dinner. One night. No repeats. 

This is only casual sex. Nothing more. Nothing less. 

At least it was , until “Alyssa”…

She was supposed to be a 27 year old lawyer, a book hoarder, and completely unattractive. She was supposed to be someone I shared law advice with late at night, someone I could trust with details of my weekly escapades. 

But then she came into my firm for an interview–a college-intern-interview, and everything fucking changed…

My thoughts:

Opening Statement

Reasonable Doubt is a short novella. Part one in a three part erotic romance serial. I was floored by this steamy story, hooked from page one. I think super glue was most definitely involved because my nose was stuck to my Nook until the very end. Amazing start to what promises to be an awesome series. Whitney developed engaging characters that grab your attention and a racy story-line you will devour. Mr Hamilton can have his way with me anytime. I was left gasping for air and wanting more. I can’t wait for the next installment in this tantalizing new series.

Review:

I object!!!

That ending…  Seriously? I did not see that coming. I was in shock, I kept trying to find more pages to read. What a mother of all cliffhangers!!! Thank the judge and all the jurors that the second installment will be out soon. I swear to tell the truth the whole truth and nothing but the truth. That should be Andrew Hamilton’s motto considering he is practically allergic to liars. Andrew is a high profile Partner/Attorney in a prestigious law firm. With a busy life and no time for relationships or an inclination to have one, he meets his women through online dating sites.

“I’d built the last six years of my life detaching myself from any chance of having feelings for someone else, refusing to build any friendships…”

It is evident that he has been jaded and deceived before, I am hoping that details will be revealed in the second volume. He is brutally honest with his intentions. One dinner. One night. No repeats. It is what it is.

“Casual sex. Nothing more. Nothing Less.” That line wasn’t there for decoration, and it was in bold print for a reason.”   

That is until he meets fellow attorney 27 years old Alyssa on a lawyer chat room, not a dating site. It’s strictly exchanging of information between lawyers to help with their cases but what was a casual interchange of law advice between these two soon turns into an unlikely friendship of sorts. After six months of texting and talking on a daily basis, Andrew wants to meet Alyssa, desperately so and he is not shy or apologetic about it either. This man is demanding, brazen and used to getting what he wants. Alyssa has been keeping some crucial details to herself and refuses to meet with him at all costs. She declines all of his less than subtle advances on her, but this man is very hard to resist.

“Thank you for telling me that my dick is in your prayers. I’d prefer if it was in your mouth.”

I absolutely loved their witty phone banter, and sexual innuendos. Andrew is such a dirty talker, sexy as hell, enigmatic man that you just can’t help but succumb to his demands. It was just hard not to. He is the definition of an alpha male. Imagine Christian Grey meets Drew Evans… Did you get the picture yet? I know you did. That is one delicious and dangerous mix. Yum!!!

“I’m busy..” “Then why did you answer the phone?” “Because the sound of my voice makes you wet.” 
“You know.”…”for a high profile lawyer, you have a pretty dirty mouth.” Alyssa
“You’d be surprised how much filthier it can get.” – Andrew

But what happens when his firm is interviewing interns and he meets 22 old Aubrey Everhart, Duke University pre-law student, gorgeous blonde and non other than his virtual phone friend, Alyssa. Andrew is shocked, livid and completely turned on by this woman that has been lying to him through her teeth, the one rule that is a deal breaker for him.

”Once someone lies to me they’re dead to me forever.”

Tangled in a web of lies unraveling before him, Andrew is dead set against hearing Aubrey out. In his eyes there is no reasonable doubt when someone lies. Those are his rules but damn it all to hell because when it comes to her, Andrew just can’t stay away. They embark into heated sexual encounters that were so steamy I thought it would burn a hole through my screen, he wants to punish her for her deceit and he knows exactly how to do it.

“I’ve been looking forward to fucking the woman who teased me every night for nearly six months,” he whispered, sliding his fingers underneath my towel.”

Aubrey was an awesome heroine, she is feisty and doesn’t stay quiet or take shit, she holds her own against the imposing persona that is Andrew Hamilton. I loved their sexual tension. The carnal attraction they shared for one another was palpable and… Wowza! The sex was -somebody turn down the pressure cooker cause it’s about to blow- HOT!!

 Verdict

Whitney Gracia’s writing was engaging, fast paced and humorous and though it’s a short story, she gives just the right amount of information to keep you entertained. I read the book in a matter of hours and was not disappointed. I was left with a huge book hangover and craving more of the sexy Andrew Hamilton and his dirty tongue. What an unexpected and delicious read.

Case pending, next hearing coming shortly.

Reasonable Doubt Volume 2

“…And could you please have the janitor check my floors for fucking superglue?”

heart divider

 About the Author

Whitney Gracia Williams

A self diagnosed candy addict, travel junkie, and hypochondriac, Whitney Gracia Williams LOVES to write about characters that make you laugh, cry, and want to (in the case of Selena Ross) reach through your Kindle and slap them.

She is the “imaginary bestselling” author of the Jilted Bride Series, Mid Life Love, Wasted Love, and Captain of My Soul.

Website Facebook Twitter

 

 

Leave a Reply

