Schedar G. Reviews The Weight of Words by Georgina Guthrie with Signed Giveaway!!!

Title: The Weight of Words

Series: Words 
Author:  Georgina Guthrie
Genre:  New Adult, Contemporary Romance

The Weight of Words

GoodReadsAmazonBarnes and Noble

Synopsis: 

Aubrey Price is in the final months of her undergraduate degree at the University of Toronto. Bright, witty, and fiercely independent, Aubrey works part-time for the college dean and has her sights set on graduating with distinction. When she meets Dean Grant’s son, Daniel, the TA in her senior Shakespearean studies course, a shared love of the Bard’s works and an instant mutual attraction draw Aubrey and Daniel together. Unfortunately, a strict anti-fraternizing policy–made more perilous by a black mark on Daniel’s record–keeps them apart.

Against this academic backdrop, Aubrey and Daniel navigate their way through a steamy courtship, their forbidden romance aided, abetted, and sometimes thwarted by a colorful cast of friends, family, and classmates.

 

Review: 

“The course of true love never did run smooth…”~ W. Shakespeare.

 

The Weight of Words, a lovely story of forbidden romance. Is this your modern day Romeo and Juliet?

Not quite… it’s even better.

To say that I was a puddle of melted goo as soon as Daniel uttered the first Shakespeare line to Aubrey (which was in fact not romantic at all), would be putting it lightly. After finishing this book I am having a rather hard time putting myself back together. Georgina Guthrie crafted a beautiful engaging story with smart characters who still managed to stay real. There was no facade, no pretenses, what you see is what you get and boy did I get more than I was expecting.

This book was highly recommended not only by my lovely Twitter peers but also by one of my favorite authors, Sylvain Reynard, and if Sylvain Reynard tells me to read something, I definitely listen. In turn, Georgina Guthrie has become another favorite author from whom I can’t wait to get more.

This story follows Aubrey and Daniel, two characters who fall in love with each other but aren’t able to be together at the moment. Daniel is Aubrey’s TA in her Shakespearean studies (you can see their predicament). Aubrey likes Daniel from the moment she sees him. In fact, like might be an understatement. It was a breath of fresh air to see Aubrey crushing for Daniel so hard, that her thoughts scrambled leaving her at a loss for words with a swirling vortex of hormones.

I snuck a glance at Daniel. He’d relaxed back in his seat, rubbing his chin as he appraised me. I held his gaze boldly, and he tilted his head forward, as if to commend me for impressing Professor Brown. I averted my eyes, stomach somersaulting again.

What, now I’m in grade nine?”


Daniel. Oh Daniel! Wait… What was I gonna say???

Oh yes! Daniel is so hot, and sexy, and smart, and chiseled, and… did I say sexy? Cause he is, so sexy I have to say it twice. He has the “most glorious blue eyes, defined cheekbones and full lips.” His mood swings and mysteriousness make him hard to understand and impossible to resist.

“I sent up a silent prayer of my own. And, dear God? Thank you for creating Daniel in all his sweet-ass hotness. That’s probably sacrilege but I mean it most sincerely. Amen.”

The way Daniel treats Aubrey makes you think he’s indifferent until he comes clean and shares the rather deep feelings he’s been harboring for her.

Aubrey is a smart girl that still keeps things real. She’s got both sides of the coin; the intellectual girl who is also down to earth and quite blunt.

“You know what I love about you?” He asked. “You can go from cussing sailor to poet laureate in three seconds without batting an eyelash. It’s quite impressive.”

The use of Shakespeare quotes at the beginning of each chapter really shapes this story into more than a simple romance book. It’s intellectual and deep as well. There is nothing more romantic than the Bard, except maybe for Daniel using his quotes and adding some rather swoony ones of his own.

“…So true a fool is love that in you will,

Though you do any thing, he thinks no ill. ~ W. Shakespeare

I miss you, Aubrey. I really do watch the clock for you, wishing away the hours until I’m able to see you again and dreaming of the day when we can be together. ~ D

xoxoxo… “

It is hard sometimes for people to read a romance novel where there is no intimate scenes and fall in love with it, however, the sexual tension and undeniable desire that Aubrey and Daniel have for each other is evident thus creating an allure towards this story. We all want what we can’t have and I certainly believe that fact is one of the biggest appeals to this story, not to mention Daniel is a huge flirt!

“My God, he was so gorgeous. Was it really possible that one day in the not-too-terribly-distant- future I was going to get me a piece of that? Be still my ever-loving heart.

He smiled smugly. “What a coincidence it is to see you here.”

“Indeed. One might suspect that a certain person’s schedule had been examined by someone else with access to said document.”

“One might think that,” He said with mock seriousness. “Or one might discover that this certain someone else never, ever forgets inportant details, like the exact location of the other person on a particular Tuesday several weeks ago, at this precise time, only to hope like hell that this was part of that other person’s regular Tuesday afternoon flight path.”

I tapped my palm against the side of my head, laughing in complete confusion.

“Come again?”

He leaned forward. “Hmm, having not had the immense pleasure of doing so a first time, that request is invalid.” A delicious smile played around his lips.”

They finally express their feelings and agree to wait, nine to ten weeks before they can have an open relationship. Wait… Wait… That word makes my heart ache… but wait they do… Sort of.

I fell in love with Aubrey and Daniel’s story. With Georgina Guthrie for writing it and I know you will too. And if you think Daniel and Aubrey are the only interesting characters in this story, think again. Daniel’s brothers, his best friend, Penny as well as Julie and Matt are just as engaging and entertaining.

This book is simply amazing. I cannot encourage you enough to read it. Fans of the Gabriel’s Inferno series will devour this story and count down the days along with Aubrey and Daniel for books two and three to come out.

 

About the Author 

Georgina Guthrie is a self-professed book hugger and compulsive diarist. Though GG now resides in Canada, she was born across the pond and still considers herself a Brit through and through, which may explain her frequent visits to her favourite local British import shop. 

GG is often happiest when reading and writing, but she’s just as likely to be found hanging out with friends and family, almost certainly with a glass of red wine in one hand a bag of cheese and onion crisps in the other.

Website Facebook Twitter

 

I loved the Weight of Words so much that I want to give you the chance to win a copy and Georgina Guthrie has agreed to include a signed bookplate personalized to the winner. To win a Print Copy of The Weight of Words and

 photo ebef23c6-873f-4513-93ba-f9ae26dfdd37_zps1a549bc3.png

6 thoughts on “Schedar G. Reviews The Weight of Words by Georgina Guthrie with Signed Giveaway!!!

  1. I already knew you ladies had excellent taste (i.e. writing a story about Summer and David Gandy) and this affirms it. I too, read Weight of Words after seeing the tweet by Sylvain and it is now one of my favorite books of all time. Did you know #2 is coming out this summer?!?!? I cannot WAIT to hear what Aubrey and Daniel are up to once school is over (Be still my pounding heart). Cheers!

  2. I absolutely love this book. I found out via Sylvain Reynard and knowing how much I love the Gabriel series, I did not hesitate when SR said his readers might enjoy this book.
    OMG, this books was flipping awesome!
    I can’t wait for Better Deeds than Words, I think out in May 20? or is it pre-ordered date. Either way. I need to have it.

    Thanks for the opportunity for giveaway.

  3. Pingback: Happy Book Birthday!!! Better Deeds than Words by Georgina Guthrie with Excerpt | The Breakfast Blog

Leave a Reply

