Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting is out today!!! Author Interview by Schedar and Giveaway <3<3<3

clippedwings-cover

add-to-goodreads-button3

I have been waiting for this day since I first read Cupcakes and Ink almost a month ago… I am so excited that Clipped Wings is out in the world and all of you will finally be able to get your hands on it!!!!

You can read my 5 Gourmet Cups review HERE!

In honor of its release the AWESOME Helena Hunting was gracious enough to answer some questions we had about the book, herself and where she draws inspiration from. So thank you so much Helena, you have no idea what an honor it is to have you here on The Breakfast Blog!!!

heart divider

1. What inspired you to become a writer?

I’ve always been an avid reader and I’ve always enjoyed writing. As a kid I wrote and illustrated short stories for fun. In high school I wrote poetry, but I never shared it with anyone. Writing wasn’t something I seriously pursued until after I posted the original draft of Clipped Wings on line. That was when I considered the possibility that what I wrote didn’t have to end up in a box in my closet.

(You have no idea how glad I am that you that you decided that… After all, no one puts baby in a corner… Or in this case, Hayden in a box.)

2. Is Clipped Wings the first book you ever wrote?

Before Clipped Wings, I wrote more than 200k of would likely be considered paranormal romance. The story evolved into something much bigger than I intended, so I took a break from it to get some perspective. That’s when I began writing Clipped Wings.

(Hmm… Interesting. Helena Hunting goes Paranormal… Something I hope we get to see one day.)

3. How did Clipped Wings come to be? Where did the idea come from?

It originated from a number of events, all of them tragic. One event that stayed with me involved a car accident. They’re such a common occurrence, but this one had a lasting emotional impact. A tractor trailer jackknifed, taking out a limousine. Inside were a groom and his groomsmen. Everyone in the limo died, leaving a devastated bride at the altar. What I couldn’t fathom was how the people left behind coped with such a tragedy. I wanted to explore how two people, who had both sustained immeasurable trauma, not only survived, but could find a way to move on with each other.

(I couldn’t imagine something like that happening. Maybel and I just got chills reading about this tragic event. I have to say you did a beautiful job exploring this in Clipped Wings.)

4. I fell in love with Hayden and Tenley… They couldn’t be more troubled and still tried to be together. What makes them try so hard even though they both feel undeserving?

I think Tenley expresses it best in Chapter 13:

“I was starving. And not for food. Deprived of human connection and physical contact, I had been wasting away. . . But the brief contact from Hayden in form of fleeting touches and kisses on the cheek had awakened feelings that bulldozed over my attempt at isolation and solitude. After being in his chair for an hour with his hands on me, even under the guise of professional detachment, I was covetous for more. I didn’t realize how ravenous I’d been until after the tattoo session.”

These two have highly traumatic pasts and manage to find each other in the most unlikely of circumstances. Both of them have tried to keep people out, to remain guarded, but eventually the basic human need for connection takes over. In each other, they discover a deep emotional connection; a partner who relates to the level of loss they’ve experienced.

5. I felt sad for these characters. Their emotions really came through in your writing. How did you put yourself in that frame of mind?

I feel things intensely. Music helps me access those emotions. Sometimes I listen to albums on repeat when writing specific scenes or chapters. It drives my husband crazy. The heaviest and darkest moments were likely a product of The Cure’s Disintegration album.

6. Hayden used to be a bad boy, and that makes him so hot and mysterious. Do you have a favorite bad boy besides Hayden in literature?

Hmm . . . Jericho Barrons from Karen Marie Moning’s Fever Series stands out, as does JR Ward’s Zadist. I’m also partial to Reseph in Larissa Ione’s Demonica series. For contemporary romance I’d say Beckett from Debra Anastasia’s Return to Poughkeepsie and Katy Evan’s Remington Tate.

(You just gave me some more stuff to add to my TBR 😉 )

7. Are tattoos something you personally like? If so is it because of the art?

I’ve always gravitated toward alternative forms of artistic expression, especially body modification, and more specifically, tattoos. I’m constantly amazed by the skill set required put something two dimensional on a three dimensional surface.

8. Is there any other series besides The Clipped Wings Series(Inked Armor and Cracks in the Armor) that you’re working on?

I’d love to revisit that paranormal story I started more than a half a decade ago. However, I’ve got a couple other manuscripts kicking around that I’d like to polish up first. I also have another novel in the Clipped Wings series to follow Cracks in the Armor, which focuses on secondary characters in the story.

(We’d Love you to revisit that paranormal series too… Although I’m glad we’ll get to know more about the secondary characters… Maybe Chris’ story is next??)

9. What’s your favorite book? Why?

I don’t know that I could ever narrow it down to one favorite. There are too many amazing stories out there. Having grown up on a steady diet of lit fic, I have an affinity for stories written by Anne-Marie MacDonald, particularly Fall of Your Knees. Over the past few years I’ve been reading quite a bit of paranormal romance. JR Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood has such a complex network of relationships and storylines, and I love her flawed characters.

One last question since we are The Breakfast Blog.

10. If you could have breakfast with anyone (real or fiction) who would it be and what would you ask?

It should probably be a historical figure and I should probably ask something profound, right? I’m going to go with a fictional character. It would be Jericho Barrons, because I want to know what exactly he is.

(That’s funny, I would interview a fictional character as well… So don’t worry… Haha.)

Thank you so much for stopping by Helena, we greatly appreciate your taking the time. Good luck with all your future projects. We know we can’t wait for Inked Armor and Cracks in the Armor to come out. You and these characters have become a part of our life now.

heart dividerIsn’t she awesome guys??? If you haven’t read Clipped Wings yet, please get it NOW!!!

To order Clipped Wings, visit one of the links below:

Amazon   ♥      B&N

Enter the link below for a chance to win a Print Copy of Clipped Wings.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

8 thoughts on “Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting is out today!!! Author Interview by Schedar and Giveaway <3<3<3

  1. OH YEAH OH YEAH OH YEAH. The book is finally LIVE!!!!
    I’ve been waiting for so long since I read Cupcakes & Ink, which I won from your Giveaway 🙂
    I can’t wait to find out more about Hayden and Tenley and their story.
    The combination of tattooed bad boy + dark past/secrets with a love for cupcakes & slightly OCD? lol
    Gosh, so perfect. I’m looking forward to this 🙂

    From the tiny glimpse into Hayden’s crew, I definitely want to find out more about them. FUTURE BOOKS, please!

  2. Wow, this interview makes me want to read Clipped Wings even more. That event where the idea came from is heartbreaking in itself. I’ve never read the fanfic version of this, but I’ve heard some really good things about it. Mainly the angst, which is what I’m most looking forward to.

  3. I bought the ebook, but as I’m reading I would love a print copy. I am loving the new life to this story, and it doesn’t even feel like i have read it I. Any form before

  4. you girls made me want to read this.
    My TBR is going crazy! I’m waiting for my Kindle Fire, then I’ll have it ASAP!

  5. I was madly in love with your online fic of Clipped Wings, read it multiple times!!! When I found out it was getting published I screamed LOL!!! This story touches me in such a way in dealing with an extreme.loss/death in my life. I devoured this book in one night and can’t wait for more!

  6. I think all the review about this book and the story line really got me hooked. This really seems like an interesting read. Thank you so much for this amazing giveaway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

