Unravel by Calia Read- Reviewed by Maybelis L. (With Giveaway)

Unravel wrap (1)

add-to-goodreads-button3

Synopsis:

Six months ago, I was happy. I was simply Naomi Carradine.

One month ago, I was admitted into a psych ward.

Yesterday, Lachlan visited me. Kissed me. And told me that I’m starting to lose my mind.

Hours later, Max haunted my thoughts, reminding me I’m not crazy and that he needs my help.

A few minutes ago, I drifted further from reality, trying to unravel the past.

And now…everyone thinks I’m insane. But, I know he’s real, and I know he needs me.

Do you believe me?

Review:

Do you know that feeling you get when you’re trying to solve a Rubik’s cube? How it hurts your head, baffles your mind, and just when you get one side, you realize you have five more to go??? And it frustrates the heck out of you… but you just can’t give up… you keep going and going, until all the colors are lined up.

That’s what Unravel was like to me. This story pulled me in and kept me glued to the pages, refusing to let me go. It literally hijacked my mind and didn’t release it until the very last word. The beauty of this story lies in the unknown. I know it is counter productive to say this as a book reviewer but don’t go reading every review out there, don’t go looking for spoilers. Just grab the book, go in mind blank and try to decipher this story before it’s over.

“God offers to every mind its choice between truth and repose. Take which you please- you can never have both.”

I came across this book on Angie’s Dreamy Reads blog. She was praising it so highly and enticing everyone to go read it, so much so that I ended up succumbing to the need of finding out what the hype was all about… What can I say, I am as curious as a kitten. Opening this book was like falling through the rabbit hole, where nothing makes sense but you know that somehow it’s all connected and you can tell the big reveal will absolutely blow your mind.

“What are you thinking?” I breathe…

“I’m thinking, I’d do anything with you… for you… to you… I’m thinking you have me under a spell.”

This story revolves around Naomi Carradine, she’s committed into a mental institution and she doesn’t know the reason. Through her memories we get to hear the story of her past and the story of how she got to be at Fairfax, sending you back and forth through her life; from childhood until the few months before when she was admitted. Through the entire book you can’t help but question her sanity. She seems convinced about her truths and it even makes you question what the reality is. Her memories are filled with her best friend Lana, and the two boys she loves, Lachland and Max. As the story unravels, you begin to question if any of them are real, and if so, then what led her to this place?

“His lips touched mine. 

You know that one of a kind kiss? The one that takes all your pain, fear, insecurities, sadness and destroys it within seconds? The kiss that brings you back to life?

That was this kiss.”

This story was very smartly written. Calia Read created characters that have depth and made me feel attached to each one of them, I was unwilling to let go. As much as I desperately wanted to unravel this story I cringed at the thought of reaching a conclusion that would break my heart or lose any of them.

The plot was very well developed. The author created a maze within the pages that kept me guessing in every direction, and just when I thought I had it, I reached a dead end, and had to start again. It was impossible to escape until the truth unraveled itself. Hitting me like a punch to the gut that left me breathless and shocked.

“‘What if I can’t?’ My voice breaks. ‘What if I’m really fading away and there’s nothing left to me?’

‘Impossible.’ He wraps his hand around the back of my neck. Our foreheads touch and our eyes are inches apart. ‘Someone can only fade away if there’s nothing left for them. But there’s me and you. We’ll always be something strong enough to keep you going.’”

This was an amazing story of self discovery, love and the fear of the unknown. I devoured the last few chapters, like a kid in a candy store, while biting my nails and trying to keep my heart from popping out of my chest.

It is a story that demands attention and I believe that everyone needs to read it. So much so that I couldn’t keep myself from telling Schedar a little bit about it, making her so curious that we ended up reading the last fifty pages together out loud, tag team style. I know, talk nerdy to me… Or in this case, unravel me. We were left reeling, our minds blown.

“Tomorrow, I’ll accept that in order to unravel my story. I’ll be destroyed first.”

Not only do I give this book five Gourmet cups but I am begging you to go get it right now, because this story will definitely surprise you.

DYBM

To order Unravel go to Amazon or B&N

We want you to read this book so “MADLY” that we’re giving a copy away to ONE lucky reader. So enter the Rafflecopter link below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

7 thoughts on “Unravel by Calia Read- Reviewed by Maybelis L. (With Giveaway)

  1. My friend suggested this to me, and I’m glad you did a review.
    Added this to my TBR, I’ll let you know my view once I read this

  2. THANK YOU so much for this amazing giveaway! I’ve always wanted to read Unravel Me, but I never had the chance!

  3. It also explains partially, why diabetics have high cholesterol,
    high triglycerides, high blood pressure, glaucoma and cataracts,
    heart disease, low energy, anxiety and obesity. ” The study is published in the December 25, 2013 issue of the journal Nature. A lot of people struggle with their diabetes-related diet restrictions.

Leave a Reply

