Sylvain Reynard Interview with Schedar G. and Giveaway

Sylvain Reynard

I got my hands on Gabriel’s Inferno about a year ago. I’ve been hooked ever since. The characters are enthralling and the books, works of art. Sylvain Reynard’s writing is simply magical and engaging. The way he took me on a journey along with this characters, making me a part of their life was unsettling and a little unnerving, since more than once I found myself having rather inappropriate thoughts about Julianne’s husband, Gabriel, only to realize later that my guilt wasn’t necessarily funded since the characters were in fact, not real. That’s Mr. Reynard’s power, he blurs reality with fiction, pulling you into the world he creates in his books and not allowing you to leave until way after you’re done… In fact, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to leave this compelling story and it’s beautiful characters behind.

It is not a secret that Mr. Reynard is one of my favorite authors out there. Not only because of how much I love and treasure his books, but also because behind the mysterious author is a heart of Gold. How do I know you ask? Because when Mr. Reynard isn’t writing, he is talking to his fans on Twitter or Facebook. Because also everyday he uses his social media base to bring awareness to countless charitable organizations. If that doesn’t give him a golden heart, I don’t know what does.

I am beyond happy and excited to welcome Mr. Reynard to “The Breakfast Blog”. Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to answer some of our questions.

heart divider

Thank you Schedar for inviting me to be with you and your readers. It’s a pleasure to be with you.

1. The Gabriel’s Inferno series is a lovely, inspiring story encompassing themes of love, hope, charity and redemption. It has inspired many to be more charitable, kinder towards others, and it has even inspired some to write. You may not know this but there is some Gabriel’s Inferno Fanfic… How does it feel to be the author of such an inspiring series?

Thank you.  I’m very flattered about the Fan fiction.  Thanks for letting me know about it. 

I’m grateful to readers for reading and I’m very happy that they enjoyed the novels.  But I’m even happier to hear that my writing has inspired others to give back to their local communities. That’s one of the reasons why I try to highlight charities on social media – I believe everyone can make a difference.

2. You’ve always been very interested in Dante. Is that what gave you the idea to create a story between a Professor of Dante Studies and his student or is there a deeper story behind that decision?

The story of Dante and Beatrice isn’t as well known as, say, Romeo and Juliet. But it’s a story I’ve always preferred. I wanted to expose that story to a wider audience and translate it to a contemporary setting.

(You’ve surely brought more attention to Dante and Beatrice with your books. Many have purchased that story and are becoming more familiar with it. Myself included.)

3. Since reading the Prologue in Gabriel’s inferno, I always felt like Gabriel and Julianne were sort of the spirits (for lack of a better word) of Dante and Beatrice. Did you write this series to give Dante and Beatrice the life you feel they deserved?

Very much so.  There are significant differences between Dante and Professor Emerson – Dante was married, for example.  But their impetuousness and their occasional bouts of ill humour are similar enough.

And what’s even more important, they both desire to be better men in order to be worthy of the women who capture their hearts.

4. Where do you draw inspiration for Gabriel’s lovely words to Julia? Some quotes are simply breathtaking. Are you naturally romantic in your life? (Without giving too much of it away off course)

The key to Gabriel’s speech is Dante. When you spend your life reading and writing about a figure, perhaps you begin to sound like him. I think Gabriel internalizes Dante’s poetic turns of phrase and so he speaks like him.

As to your second question … no comment. 🙂

(Can’t blame a girl for trying right? 😉 )

Your knowledge of Academia seems quite extensive… Where does your knowledge come from?

I was a student once, a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away …

5. As we all know, the story started as Twilight Fan Fic, but honestly the only similarity was the names… Was there any other Fan Fic besides Twilight you dabbled on? If not, what compelled you to pick Twilight?

Although I admire the Star Trek and Lord of the Rings Fandoms, I didn’t think they were a good fit with Dante. But perhaps I was wrong …

Perhaps Katherine Picton should have been Gandalf. Hmmm….

(That’s definitely something to think about…)

6. You have said in other interviews that you were a Volturi fan in Twilight. What intrigued you about them? Did you have a favorite character out of all of them? If so, who was it?

I enjoyed Aro. I was trying to figure out what made him tick psychologically.

(I’m sure we all wondered that at some point or another… My guess, it was the fear of losing Power)

7. What is your favorite book? The one you never get tired of reading over and over again? Why?

I think the mark of a good book is that it can be read over and over again. I read Shakespeare and Milton repeatedly.

8. I love how involved you are with charitable organizations. How do you decide which Organizations to support?

Thank you.  I try to choose organizations that help the poor, the sick, and the marginalized.

9. I personally love your writing and cannot wait to get my hands on “The Raven”, I know I’m not the only one. Is there anything new you can share about this highly anticipated trilogy?

Thanks very much. Readers can learn more about my new series here: http://www.sylvainreynard.com/2013/11/my-next-novel-revealed.html

I’m going to be revealing the cover and telling readers about the release date soon. Stay tuned…

One last question:

Because we are The Breakfast Blog, I’d like to know If you could have breakfast with ANYONE and ask him or her ANYTHING… Who would it be and what would you ask?

That’s an interesting question. I’d like to meet Lieutenant-General Roméo Dallaire, author of “Shake Hands with the Devil.” I’d like to ask him about his humanitarian work and I’d like to communicate to him how much I admire him for what he did in Rwanda. You can read more about him here: http://www.romeodallaire.com

I want to thank you being so kind and answering our questions Mr. Reynard. We love you and your writing and definitely cannot wait to get our hands on every single one of your future projects.

Thank you Schedar. I appreciate the support. It’s been a pleasure, SR.

 

heart divider

There you have it friends! Isn’t he quite the gentleman? I sure think so. If you haven’t had the life altering experience of reading the Gabriel’s Inferno series. Please get to it ASAP, you won’t be disappointed (except maybe when you realize that Gabriel is taken).

To order Gabriel’s Inferno, follow the links below:

Barnes and Noble

Amazon.com 

To learn more about Mr. Sylvain Reynard, connect with him here on Facebook and Twitter

Or visit his Webpage www.sylvainreynard.com so you can follow all of his upcoming projects.

For a chance to win a set of Gabriel’s Inferno Ebooks and the Gabriel’s Inferno Audiobook,  as well as a set of bookmarks, enter the Rafflecopter link below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The winners will be picked and announced on Saturday, March 8th.

36 thoughts on “Sylvain Reynard Interview with Schedar G. and Giveaway

  1. Have not had the opportunity to read Gabriel’s Inferno but have heard amazing things would love to read and see for myself would love to win these Twitter mythical books .

    • U will love all the twist and turns that come about in tbe book so intimate you will find ur self wishing to be Gabriels Beatrice. I’ve read the whole series loved each and every word. You might as well buy all three books u will crave more. I’m just sad I have read all three I do crave more…..

  2. YAY Schedar for interviewing SR. One of the best authors out there. I love his book SO MUCH!
    He writes so beautifully and lyrically, it’s just….dreamy, haha.
    And of course, Gabriel. OH GABRIEL!!! *sigh* How amazing is HE!?
    Julia is just so lucky!
    I can’t say enough of great things about this series. I recommend everyone to go read it!

  3. Wonderful interview! Reading Sylvain Reynard’s Gabriel series is indeed a life altering experience. I look forward to The Raven series and pray he keeps us captivated for many years with his amazing stories. He nourishes our minds, hearts and souls.

  4. Gotta love the Gabriel series!! Can’t wait to read more from Sylvain Reynard in the future! Awesome interview by the way! 🙂

  5. Great interview!! SR is one of my favorite authors. The Gabriel series is one that I have read several times. This series also brought my mother much joy. She read it in Spanish.

  6. A delightful interview with a special author. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, well done. To anyone who hasn’t read this series, do it…it is life changing.

  7. Thanks so much for this interview with SR. I loved the Gabriel series! He is my favorite author!

    Thank you, Mr, Reynard, for your books, your wit, your kind heart and your snarky narrator! 🙂

  8. I absolutely love SR and this series. It is always thoughtful and I enjoyed learning about Dante and Beatrice. I’ve actually gotten a couple of friends to read the series and they loved it, too. It’s wonderful to find a brilliant writer that so many enjoy! It’s one of my favorite series to read multiple times!

  9. Absolutely love this series. I got a couple of friends to read it, too! It’s one that I frequently find myself going back to when I am in need of something to read and can’t find anything that appeals to me. Thanks for the interview!

  10. The Gabriel’s Inferno series is such a great one and I can’t wait to see what else Mr. Reynard comes up with in the future.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  11. Thank you for this amazing giveaway! I’ve read the first book of this series and I loved it! Looking forward to finishing the rest.

  12. I wasn’t able to read this series yet, but your interview made me want to.
    Thank you for the giveaway, hoping its INT, coz i really want bookmarks, I’m starting to collect you know 🙂

  13. Really enjoyed this interview! SR’s trilogy has been the best that I have read by far! I’m sad that there were only 3 written!

  14. I LOVE Gabriel’s Inferno! I’ve never listened to an audio book before and would love the chance to own one!

  15. Amazing giveaway & an Amazing Author!!! The Gabriel’s Inferno series is the best!!! I have re read this series over, & over again….♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

