Schedar G. Reviews Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting

ClippedWings book

goodreads button

Synopsis:

An emotional love story that follows the touch-and-go relationship of Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

As Hayden and Tenley navigate their newfound but slightly unstable relationship, they want to trust each other, but Hayden is hiding a dark and shameful past that he doesn’t ever want Tenley to find out about. And Tenley has secrets of her own that could make Hayden run away forever. When Tenley asks Hayden to put a beautifully elaborate tattoo across her back, the two form what they thought was an unshakeable bond. But when Tenley’s past shows up on her doorstep, will Hayden stand by her side…or run?

Review:

(Squeal) Oh My God! (Squeal) I just… Hayden was… That book did… Helena Hunting is… I…

Alright, alright… (taking deep breath) I obviously need a moment!

Holy Mother of hot tattoo artists and all their delicious, sexy ink! This book was SOOOO GOOOOOD!!! I just couldn’t put it down. I read it in less than two days. I consider putting off organizing and cleaning the house so I could finish it but that would have made Hayden mad.

This book was simply amazing. Two damaged characters with traumatic past events come together and fall into a dysfunctional relationship of co-dependence that totally works. In fact, it works so well, it makes you wish for someone to love you and need you like that.

“I grinned. She knew I didn’t work Mondays. That meant she was aware of my schedule. Nice. We were both creepers.”- Hayden.

Hayden and Tenley have secrets… Many secrets. They both fear that if the other finds out, they will lose the one thing that makes their life worth living, each other. Falling in love never felt as good as it did while I read this book.

“The scars are ugly.”

“Everyone has scars Tenley. If we’re lucky they’re only on the outside.”- Tenley and Hayden

Tenley has survived a terrible accident and lives with infinite guilt. Escaping to Chicago attempting to start over is only the beginning. Deciding to leave her past behind, along with all the things she used to do in order to please others, is her first step in finding her true self. But sometimes getting rid of the past is that much harder when you’ve been brainwashed into believing you don’t deserve a future.

Hayden. Oh my Hayden. How can I even describe how I feel about you? (Note that I’m talking to a fictional character. Don’t be alarmed, I do that.) Hayden is a damaged soul with a dark past. In an attempt to redeem himself he has put distance between the dark moments of his life and where he is now. Feeling guilty for an event that changed his life, Hayden can’t quite move on into believing he’s good enough for Tenley. But he doesn’t give up. Once he decides Tenley is what he wants, he will stop at nothing to have her. In this battle, He’ll even fight against himself.

This book engaged me from beginning to end. It made me feel sad, excited, euphoric, infuriated and pretty much every other emotion you can think of. Helena Hunting created real characters with real issues. Her writing was not only easy to follow but thoroughly compelling. I understood Hayden and Tenley’s fears. I got teary eyed when their truths came out. And I rejoiced in their moments of happiness.

” ‘I can’t get close enough,’ he whispered, stealing my breath when he kissed me… His emotions bared in that moment as his fingers skimmed my throat down to my collarbone and his palm stopped over my heart. ‘I want to be in here.’ There was such yearning in his eyes as he gazed down at me. 

I touched his perfect face, wishing I could give him more of me. ‘You already are.’ “

Clipped Wings chsaracters

I can tell you with absolute certainty that five stars (or coffee cups in our case) are not enough for this book. I can also tell you that I am cursing the fact that Inked Armor is months away because I’ve developed an addiction to this characters. No joke!!

I can also guarantee that you will not forgive yourself if you don’t read this book. So stop everything you’re doing right now and get it already!

Clipped Wings comes out March 4th. Preorder it now, and while you impatiently wait for the date to come, read Cupcakes and Ink so you can meet the characters that will surely take your breath away.

Buying Links:

bn-button

Amazon-Buy-Button

Helena Hunting lives on the outskirts of Toronto with her incredibly tolerant family and two moderately intolerant cats. She’s putting her degree in English Lit to good use by writing contemporary erotic romance. She is the author of Clipped Wings, her debut novel, and Inked Armor.

To find out more about this lovely author, visit her page:

http://www.helenahunting.com/

4 thoughts on “Schedar G. Reviews Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting

  1. Oh! I. Can’t. Wait. For. This. Book!!!!! I am so glad to hear such a positive review, although I already knew I’d love it! I have already preordered it,.now.just impatiently waiting for it!

  2. Pingback: Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting is out today!!! Author Interview by Schedar and Giveaway <3<3<3 | The Breakfast Blog

  3. I see a lot of interesting posts on your website. You have
    to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time, there is
    a tool that creates unique, google friendly articles in couple of minutes, just
    search in google – laranita’s free content source

Leave a Reply

