Schedar G. reviews Gabriel’s Redemption by Sylvain Reynard

Redemption

goodreads button

Schedar G. reviews Gabriel’s Redemption by Sylvain Reynard

Synopsis:

From the author of the New York Times bestsellers Gabriel’s Rapture and Gabriel’s Inferno comes the epic conclusion to the captivating romantic trilogy.

Professor Gabriel Emerson has left his position at the University of Toronto to embark on a new life with his beloved Julianne. Together, he’s confident that they can face any challenge. And he’s eager to become a father.

But Julianne’s graduate program threatens Gabriel’s plans, as the pressures of being a student become all consuming. When she is given the honor of presenting an academic lecture at Oxford, Gabriel is forced to confront Julianne about the subject of her presentation—research that conflicts with his own. And in Oxford, several individuals from their past appear, including an old nemesis intent on humiliating Julia and exposing one of Gabriel’s darkest secrets.

In an effort to confront his remaining demons, Gabriel begins a quest to discover more about his biological parents, beginning a chain of events that has startling repercussions for himself, Julianne, and his hope of having a family.I had been impatiently waiting for this book to come out since I finished reading Rapture. I hadn’t gotten enough from the Professor and Julianne. I wanted to know more about their life as a married couple. I wanted to see what would happen to people like Christa and Paul, as well as Simon and Natalie. Most of all, I wanted to know if Gabriel would ever realize that the past is the past and we must move on once we find happiness, while also seeing if Julia would ever believe the fact that she was more than enough for Gabriel.

Review:

Sylvain Reynard has a special place in my heart. His writing is beautifully crafted and I don’t just enjoy the story but I treasure the artful way in which he tells it.

To say that I absolutely loved this book would be an understatement. I breathed it. I devoured it. I lived it as I took the journey along with the characters. The plethora of emotions I felt while reading this book was overwhelming. This book not only spoke about, well… redemption, but it also spoke of love, family and hope. Although in my opinion the driving emotions in this book are love and hope.

Love is what makes the world go round, it’s what gives us hope. It makes us want to change into the person we believe we should be so we can be deserving of our blessings. That’s the shift I saw in Gabriel, not only in Redemption but throughout the series. Originally he never thought he was worthy of someone as good and pure as Julianne, but he hoped if he changed, then one day he would be. Despite him still having doubts that he will be able to keep Julianne forever, he never loses hope throughout the series.

“Every night when I fall asleep with her in my arms, I thank God she’s mine. Every morning when I wake up, my first thought is that I’m grateful she married me. I will never be worthy of her. But I spend every day trying my damnedest.”- Gabriel O. Emerson.

I admired Julianne in this book more than in the first two. Julia’s character grew into that of a more confident woman who stood up for herself not only to Gabriel but to others who questioned her character as well as her intellect. She didn’t just give into Gabriel’s wishes to make him happy, she made her opinion known in every scenario and disagreed with him when they didn’t concur.

“I asked you to stop and you brushed me off. I’m your wife. Not a speed bump.” Julianne Emerson.

The way Sylvain Reynard depicts a married couple is honest. You can see Gabriel and Julia face many situations in which their relationship gets shaken, and both feel insecure of themselves. Nevertheless, the Emerson’s always manage to stick together and overcome every obstacle. I loved how she stood up to Christa Peterson and how she felt so secure of the love Gabriel had for her.

“My husband is an exceptional lover. He’s attentive, creative, and absolutely mind-blowing. And tonight and every night the woman enjoying his adventurous nature will be me.”-Julianne Emerson.

I will definitely miss the Professor and his swooning nature, his Superman looks and his nerdy ways. My Snarky Narrator was outstanding here even more than usual. Katherine Picton made me proud. Paul’s ending made me happy. I sort of felt bad for Simon, if I were being totally honest, but I guess not all characters can find redemption in the same book.

The ending left me in tears, happy ones that is, because I wanted these characters to find happiness and I feel like all my dreams for them came true. Through hope and love Gabriel found redemption and there is no better feeling to a reader than when you see an author give you and the characters everything you expected and more. Overall, I was extremely satisfied with the culmination of this series and I give it FIVE SOLID STARS!!!

Ever since I read the beginning of Gabriel’s Inferno I kind of believed that Gabriel and Julianne were in fact the spirits of Dante and Beatrice. Did Sylvain Reynard write out for Gabriel and Julianne the life he believed Dante and Beatrice deserved?

Those of you who haven’t read this series should drop what you’re doing and run to the nearest library, pick up these books and read them. You’ll thank me later.

If you’re not convinced about reading this book, would this quote from the Professor convince you?

“I could spend the rest of my life inside you and die happy.”

How about this one?

“I simply think of you. You are everything.”

One more might do the trick.

“For you, my love, I would endeavor to pluck the stars from the sky, only to shower them at your feet.”

What if I told you he also… Oh, never mind, you’re already gone.

Purchase the Gabriel’s Inferno Series at:

http://www.amazon.com/Gabriels-Inferno-Sylvain-Reynard/dp/042526596X

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/gabriels-inferno-sylvain-reynard/1030883910?ean=9780425265963

If you want to know more about Sylvain Reynard, visit his website at:

www.sylvainreynard.com

To enter for a chance to win a complete signed set of these books, go to our Giveaways page.

3 thoughts on “Schedar G. reviews Gabriel’s Redemption by Sylvain Reynard

  1. This is a very well written review, you captured the book well and a lot of similar feelings I had when I was reading the book.
    Great job!

Leave a Reply

